Doc and Grace On The Road: Update

Quick update before I collapse into bed.

1: The trip TO GenCon had about a 85% suck rate

2: GenCon itself, all 7 hours total I got to spend at it, was ok. Still, my boredom with things gaming has infected GenCon and I have decided not to return for at least 3 years. Next year, I’ll give Origins a try.

3: I was utterly unimpressed with Indianapolis. Also, both the water and much of the air stank.

4: The trip home on Route 66 (or the spiritual replacements thereof) has so far been tons of fun. The driving can get tiring, but the stops along the way make up for it.

5: I’m posting this from Gallup, New Mexico.

6: We will, barring a return of our bad luck, be home by Sunday evening.

7: Tomorrow, we are off across Arizona with a stop planned for Meteor Crater.

 

NOTES FROM THE FUTURE:You will note that days worth of blogging do not appear here. Blame that 85% suck rate, an infected leg and my rapidly decreasing interest in GenCon and many other aspects of gaming at that time. On the other hand, Meteor Crater is hella cool and you should all travel Route 66 at least once.

3 comments on “Doc and Grace On The Road: Update

  1. Good to see you at GenCon, and sorry you won’t be back next year. Not sure I’ll be, either, much as I enjoy Peter and Bill’s games, since Brian almost certainly won’t be coming.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Indy impressions
    Hiya, Doc!
    I agree that downtown Indianapolis didn’t smell great – it didn’t last year, either. I think Milwaukee benefitted from the winds off the great lake. I do think Indy has some nice buildings, and Peter and Holly say the canal walk is pretty, but I saw more of Milwaukee’s pretty areas. The park in front of the convention center and the Hyatt was certainly lovely, though! And the hotel itself was really nice, and so were most of the people I met.
    I had forgotten that you and Grace didn’t make it to Indianapolis last year. I still remember how all your photos from the scouting trip the year before had prepared me for what Indy was going to look like, :-)
    Avis

    • Doc Cross says:

      Re: Indy impressions
      >>I had forgotten that you and Grace didn’t make it to Indianapolis last year. I still remember how all your photos from the scouting trip the year before had prepared me for what Indy was going to look like, :-)<<
      Yeah, our scouting trip gave us the impression that downtown Indy was a bit better than we thought. Mind you, Indy is not a totally crappy city…it just did not leave Grace and I with good feelings this year. Since I’m sure at least a small portion of our dislike stems from our non-Indy related problems (altho Grace has some real problems with how the Indy Tourism Board is handling some things nowadays), we WILL give Indy (and GenCon) a second chance…in 2007.
      I’m planning on writing an LJ entry about my loss of love for the gaming hobby/industry and how it relates to GenCon…but not for awhile yet.
      And now, time to walk the Faithful Pooch.

Leave a Reply

