R. I. P. Roscoe Tiberius Cross (1990-2005)

…our boy

After several months of battling both a heart murmur and Cushing’s Syndrome, our sweet boy’s health took a sharp turn for the worse. This morning, at 9:45 AM, Roscoe was put to sleep by his vet.

Roscoe was about 10 when we adopted him and was an old set in his ways fart. He was also full of love and made us laugh. He was a friendly guy, unless you were a cat. Even then, he’d mostly just give a woof or two, then walk on.

He was a very good boy and we miss him terribly.

Edit from November 23. 2014: It is over a 9.5 years since Roscoe died and it still hurts me to read his obit up there. I miss you, old buddy.

10 comments on “R. I. P. Roscoe Tiberius Cross (1990-2005)

  1. Poor Roscoe! My condolences.

  2. doc_mystery says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about this sad news about your non-human friend and companion, Doc.
    ::B::

  3. unclelumpy says:

    As a recent parent myself, I know how much a pet can mean to someone. In case you need help, here’s some numbers you can call;
    UC Davis College of Veterinary Medicine Pet Loss Hotline: 530-752-4200 or 800-565-1526
    Iams Pet Loss Support Center and Hotline: 888-332-7738
    Iowa State University Pet Loss Support Hotline: 888-478-7574
    Or you can visit http://www.petloss.com
    “Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole ”
    -Roger Caras

  4. :(
    I’d use my sad icon, but I’m on my boyfriend’s comp.
    I hope you and the Missus Cross are doing alright.

  5. iamnikchick says:

    D’oh, I’m sorry Doc. :(

  6. tashkal says:

    My condolences to you both.

  7. jbru says:

    My condolances on your loss.

  8. delazan says:

    My Condolences
    Doc:
    My Goober is 16, a breast cancer survivor of 4 years, and is currently battling (and winning against) inflammatory bowel disorder. I know her time with us is limited, so I enjoy all I can with her now as well as her two younger siblings.
    I truly understand that losing a pet is losing a dear and loved member of the family. I know someone else posted the petloss site; I will second it’s usefulness.
    Know that you and yours are in my thoughts and prayers during this challenging time.
    -Lori

  9. My condolances, Doc.

Leave a Reply

