R.I.P. Daisy Ann Cross (2000-2009)

…my old walking partner

My dear friends,

At 8:30 this morning, our vet confirmed our worst fears: Daisy’s tumors were malignant and fast growing. At 11:30 this morning, after taking one last very slow walk and a drive around all of our favorite streets, Daisy was relieved of her suffering by our vet, Dr. Richards.

At 2:00 pm, Daisy was laid to rest in a nice secluded spot way up in the mountains. Our wonderful neighbor, Suzanne and her dog, Clancy, were there with Grace, Winker and I.

Daisy was a part of our family for just over 2 years. She will be in our hearts forever.

Goodbye, Daisy. You were a very good girl. We love you.

25 comments on “R.I.P. Daisy Ann Cross (2000-2009)

  1. doc_mystery says:

    Ah man…
    I’m so sorry for your loss, Doc.
    ::B::

  2. ratmmjess says:

    Aw, man. So sorry. Always a heart-breaker.

  3. aota says:

    That is so sad. You gave her a good send off. Good thoughts and prayers for you, Grace and Winkers.

  4. My condolences on the loss of one of your family.

  5. elissa_carey says:

    I’m so sorry. You gave her a wonderful and loving home, and no dog would ask for more than that.

  6. em_gumby says:

    I’m so sorry.
    Daisy, wherever you may be – run free.

  7. delazan says:

    Doc,
    I am so sorry for your loss. You and your family and friends are in my thoughts and prayers.
    -L.

  8. billzilla says:

    So sorry Doc; this is a very sad start to the new year.
    Take comfort that Daisy was loved and had a good life, thanks to you and Grace.
    B.

  9. muskrat_john says:

    Our condolences, Doc. That’s a terribly hard thing to have to face.

  10. The loss of a loved one, even a pet, is not easy.
    How’s the other pooch taking it?

  11. rpmiller says:

    My condolences Doc. Losing a beloved pet is tough. Best wishes to you and your family.

  12. I’m so sorry. It’s such a tough, wretched decision to have to make. Please hug Grace and Winker for me.

  13. megdeon says:

    I’m sorry for your loss…she was a good dog.

  14. I am so very sorry for your loss. I remember when my cat finally got too old to go on. Making the call to end it was the most difficult thing I have ever had to do. I feel your pain, and offer my sympathy.

  15. I’m so sorry for your trouble, Doc.

  16. brianrogers says:

    Our sympathies, Doc. There’s nothing else to say.

  17. Condolences
    Holly and I extend our sympathies to you and Grace. We are so sorry.

  18. sdharing says:

    I’m so sorry, Doc. Try to remember that when she gets to wherever doggies go, Daisy will be hailed as one of the lucky ones who had a great life with loving, caring owners.

  19. raconteurx says:

    Deepest condolences, Doc.

  20. nvdaydreamer says:

    Bummer. Sorry for your loss, but kudos for your wisdom in letting her go.

  21. unclelumpy says:

    “The dog is a gentleman, I wish to go to his Heaven, not man’s”.
    -Mark Twain

  22. notoriousbkc says:

    Damn it, Doc… you made me cry.

  23. jbru says:

    My condolences. I always love hearing about your dogs and will be sad that there is one less to tell stories about.

  24. I know this pain all too well, my friend. In my little fantasy world, Daisy has found Precious at the Rainbow Bridge, and they will lounge about, eat all they can, and wait for us to come get them…

Leave a Reply

