On The Edge Of Madness

…and hanging on by a pinky

So I dove headlong into NaNoWriMo this year, but after about 6,000 words I was swatted with the Cold Herring Of Reality: My Real Life Schedule does not give me enought free time + clear headedness to pound out 1,666 words a day for long form writing.

I work 9.5 hours a day, commute 30 minutes each way, spend at least a total of an hour a day tending to the dogs and try with limited success to get 7 hours of sleep. In the remaining 6 or so hours I clean as much of the house as I can, run errands, eat, shower, etc, etc. Weekends are almost as busy, plus they are my time to catch up on sleep.

That’s probably why most of my Doclopedia and Fiction Blog posts are well under 1,000 words.

So I’ve decided that while I wil NOT abandon the NaNoWriMo novel, I will not kill myself trying to finish it in a month. Most likely, I’ll finish it in 3-4 months, but I WILL finish it. Perhaps next November I’ll be able to crank out 50,000 words in a month.

In the mean time, I’m gonna go back to the Doclopedia & fiction posts starting this coming weekend.

Stay tuned, Gentle Readers.

Leave a Reply

