Two Thousand Posts?

…HOLY CRAP!!!

When I moved from Live Journal over here to WordPress, Grace moved all of my LJ posts onto this blog. As of this post, I have done 2,000 blog posts since March 6th, 2004.

Except that, technically, that’s wrong. See, I had a BlogSpot blog before I was on LJ, and while some of those posts got re-posted on LJ, most did not. And now I have another Blogger blog for my fiction blog, so in reality, this is closer to my 2,200th post.

But this is my main blog and 2,000 is a swell round number so screw it, I’m going with 2,000.

To celebrate, I told readers to ask me anything about myself. Surprisingly, a few actually did. Here then is the big Q & A.

From Jeremiah Reed: Greatest Grateful Dead show you have ever been to? If you can remember!!!

This is a tough one, because I think I’ve seen the Dead about two dozen times. I’m sure the best show was one of the New Years shows. I do recall seeing them at Winterland in the summer and the place was hotter than hell. At one point, several chicks went topless and that added to the festivity.

From Avis Crane: What is the most memorable thing you did or that happened to you while you were in the service?

Well, although getting speared with the pol cue on Guam was memorable, so was the mad drive from San Diego to Seattle to get there in time to meet our ship and the time a bunch of us drove up to Reno to a brothel. I think that the most memorable event of my military career took place when I went to a Jethro Tull concert at the Cow Palace in San Francisco and a young lady seduced me right there in the crowd about 10 feet from the stage while Ian Anderson was singing “Hymn 43”. I’m pretty sure he saw us, too.

From Alan Portman: Would you do it all over again?

Not all of it, but a damned big chunk of it, preferably with no ex wife and fewer encounters with agents of the law.

From Diane Russom Harrison: If you could change one decision you made in your lifetime, what would it be and why?

I would not have joined the United States Navy in October of 1972. From that stemmed many “learning experiences” that I could do without.

From Reine Harrington Carter: If you had a do-over, what would you do?

Toughest question of all, that one. Thinking it over, there was a point one evening when I was in High School that I would change by turning right instead of left while driving my car. That simple thing would have made the next full year or more much better and no doubt would have lead to me being richer than I am. Or I’d be in prison. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

