Big Bog Bugs

…you don’t want them crawling on you

 

After The Change Came

Series 3

A Morning For Popping Off To China

Wow, today seems to be a day for traveling. I’m off to Beijing in a bit, while according to the morning emails, many of my friends will also be hitting the road. Let’s review, shall we?

Avis and Daniel are off to Scotland to visit his family

Dad and Uncle Carl are heading north to Oregon to check out some cattle

Sin is on an airship to Arizona, where he’ll join in some big art project.

My old pal Spike is on a train to Florida for a game con, while his wife, Mary, is on a train bound for New York City for a shopping trip with her mom and daughter.

My cousin Wendy is in Sweden for some sort of witches meetup.

And lastly, my niece Megan is getting ready to head down to Argentina on vacation.

Like I said, whole lotta travelin’ goin’ on. Anyway, shortly after I get Wizard Portaled into Beijing, I’ll be grabbing a gun, whip and chair so as to moderate the latest round of “peace talks”. For this round, we’ll be joined by a couple of Wizards. Not sure which ones, but I’d bet one of them will be Wizard Shining Tiger. She’s pretty well respected throughout most of China and has more of an interest in politics than Wizard Shanghai Shadow or Wizard Bouncing Monkey.

I’m not sure how long I’ll be in China, but I’ll damned sure be back by Wednesday, because Thursday marks the start of QuestCon in San Francisco. I’m on at least 3 panels and Roscoe is on another three, plus we’ll be together for a “Look Out! It’s ManDog Game Design!” chat, wherein we’ll talk about what we have planned for the next year. There might also be a couple of Secret Meetings, which wouldn’t be secret if I told you about them, would they?

Well, it’s time to wrap this up and get ready for a day of no fun, but great food. You may now place bets as to how many new Chinese curse words I invent.

A Night For All Hell Breaking Loose

Well, you’ve all heard the news by now. Seems the goddamn Dragon Republic (a Dragon centric bunch) and the Red Flowers (a goofyass neo-communist/human supremacy group) got together behind the scenes and tried to conquer the Western Federation (a mostly liberal bunch of capitalists), which, had it been successful, would have put them in the driver’s seat, negotiationwise. The kink in their plan is that the attack allowed the Mongolians (who just want to be Mongolians, but also have a pretty ancient dislike of China) to come screaming down onto the Dragon Republic’s now weakened northern border. Naturally, the Southern Alliance (who want a blend of Ancient China and the modern world) did much the same to the Red Flowers. Then, to top it all off, the unaligned Mages (maybe 5,000 of them) from all over China rose up as a new faction who mostly just wanted peach and were willing to kick serious ass to get it.

I am a big fan of those Mages.

So, as I write this, the shit is hitting the fan over most of China. The Wizards are still remaining neutral, although one has to wonder about the fortuitous timing of a 7.5 earthquake in the very area the Dragon Republic was using to store weapons.

The common folks are, as always, caught up in the middle of all this crap. Thankfully, most of them were able to move to less active areas pretty quickly.

I’m off in a few minutes to go lay out a case for the Wizard’s Council to get involved in this. I will, of course, be my usual charming self. If that fails, I’ll go talk to the various Chinese Wizards directly.

Of course, if all this fighting does too much environmental damage, the Green Ladies will step in and shut it all down damned quick.

I’m getting too old for this shit.

Leave a Reply

