To Grill A Mockingbird

…first, get your grill nice and clean

CatCon 8

Day 8, Con Day 1: It’s all about the LARPing!

Note: For info on the new names that appear below, see previous con reports.

On top of the gaming, seminars (two for me, three for Spike), GMing (me, Brian, Peter, Daisy),

(Daisy: I ran a dogs only Paranoia game. It was hilarious.)

eating (Pancaketown, Big Slabs O’ Meat, Ring of Fire)

(Sasha: I love Big Slabs O’ Meat! I want to live there.)

(Sadie: Oh yeah, love that meaty goodness!)

and other frivolity, we joined about 200 other folks, human & otherwise, for a village adventure LARP entitled “The Secret of Winkleville”. We all played villagers, with the exception of myself, Avis, Silky and a goat named Reggie, who played agents of the King. Unbeknownst to us, Grace, one other woman, a cat and a pig were playing agents of the Queen.

(Sasha: I played Sookie Fullbottom, a halfling artist.)

(Daisy: I was Wurfee, the ghost hound. I pretty much scared the crap out of everybody.)

(Leon: I was Rudolfo, the wizard’s familiar.)

(Sadie: I played Mrs. Junkins, a cranky old woman.)


It was a fun three hour LARP and mysteries were solved, love was declared, evildoers were vanquished and a Belgian Malinois was elected mayor. I should also add that at one point, the agents of the King & Queen got into a duel. Grace was about to run me through with her sword when we all sighted our mutual enemy, Baron Thugg and gave chase. We eventually caught him and hauled him off to jail.

(Daisy: Mom is still giggling about beating daddy in a sword fight.)

After the LARP, we all went off to do other stuff. Right now, we are resting up before attending the First Annual CatCon Film Festival.

More bloggage tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

